World Incidents

Coronavirus travel: Belgium, Andorra and Bahamas added to UK’s quarantine list

People arriving into the UK from Belgium, Andorra and the Bahamas will now need to self-quarantine for 14 days with speculation growing that France may also be added to the list.

The pandemic-related travel restrictions will be imposed from 4 am BST (5 am CET) on Saturday, UK Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said. The new rules have already been in force in Wales since midnight on Thursday.

As well as announcing new quarantine rules, the Foreign Office also advised UK nationals to avoid “all but essential travel” to the three countries.

The countries are the latest to see a change of rules after two-week quarantines were reimposed on people arriving from Spain and Luxembourg at the end of July.

Chancellor Rishi Sunak raised speculation on Friday that more countries, including France, may also be added to the UK’s “no-go” list, adding that the UK “will not hesitate” to act.

“What I can say to people is we’re in the midst of a global pandemic and that means there is always the risk of disruption to travel plans and people need to bear that in mind,” he told Sky News.

“It’s the right thing for us to do to keep everything under review on a constant basis, talking with our scientists and medical advisers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.